reflections

Earn some ajr, wake someone up for fajr

While they don’t get any bonuses for figuring out that ajr rhymes with fajr, Muslim Matters gets credit for the title of this post. This morning my mother got ajr (reward) for waking me up for fajr (morning prayer).

f33f01c072b6c938ec4da5c6d30219d4

Prayer is better than sleep

(wake up O ummah)

My jihad is called fajr

Whilst the world sleeps, I struggle

To rise from my sleep, from under the sheets

Attempting to gain ajr

My heart is yearning to wake

My body is pleading to rest

The water is cold, I have to be bold

For me it’s an ultimate test.

I can sleep and dream some more

Or I can wake and call my Lord

Supplicating to Him

Lord forgive all my sins

My aim is only reward

The devil does have me in knots

Three of them which are tying me down

I seek refuge from him while washing my limbs

Wudhu can extinguish him now

My bed is full of comfort

But the comfort of heaven awaits

Forever within it

It’s just a few minutes

And fajr is out of the way

My resting place is temporary

But my final rest is permanent

So before I am gone

My deeds are but none

With fajr I shall be earning them

It’s a daily struggle for all

Our day does go to waste

While we are living let’s fall in submission

Cos death we all shall taste

Seek not the life of this world

Paradise does not come cheap

We struggle and strive whilst we are alive

It may be our last sleep

Prayer is better than sleep.

(Spoken word by The Daily Reminder).

What do you think? Leave a Reply!

