reblogs

Age is but JUST a number!

Musings of A Musafir - The Journey

Just because a person is young, it doesn’t mean they’re stupid or incompetent.

Al-Khatib (may Allah have mercy on him) mentions in his book, ‘Tarikh Baghdad’ that Yahya ibn Aktham (may Allah have mercy on him) was made judge over Basra when he was about 20 years old, and so the people began to belittle him. They said (mockingly), ‘And how old is the judge?!’ Realizing that they were belittling him, he replied, ‘I am older than ‘Uttab ibn Asid (may Allah be pleased with him) who the Messenger (SAW) made judge over the people of Makkah on the day of the Conquest, and I am older than Mu’adh ibn Jabal (may Allah be pleased with him) who the Messenger (SAW) made judge over the people of Yemen, and I am older than Ka’ab ibn Soor (may Allah have mercy over him) who ‘Umar ibn al-Khattab (may Allah be pleased…

View original post 71 more words

2 thoughts on “Age is but JUST a number!

  1. Why is it your faith in you belief (in your knowledge) different from other faiths & other beliefs? Let me rephrase this: Why does your god seem so much more interesting to me than others at this time & this place? I think you are a fine fine testimony to the unconditional pure lovingly light of that which is divine. Allah & Mohammed have a wonderful voice through you. If you follow my drift? lol May I say this: I love you.I understand I am just one among many who feel this way. You are pure. I love your generous heart and your vibrant loving soul. There is a place for you where only the most holy of the holiest can ever be seated. I do believe this. Scott Utley, LA CA USA

    PS There is a man who left this plane in 2010. His name is/was Alex Johns. Wiki him…. Everything I write I write to & for him. He & I are of the same cloth. We come from the same place. You are one of our sisters. I know this. And so it is….and so it is. — Actually, the profile picture I am using at the moment is Alex … he is a true saint among the slants .. he is a prophet of the most unique and blessed order. We have touched the face of god and we are so grandly fortunate .. I just love this internet thing….. 🙂 If I were ever to follow in the words of scripture, I would .like to follow you where you are going, however, I am myself of another way … I am thankful for you…. xxxscoxxxx … 🙂

    Like

  2. Well, the way I see it is this, Allah is the ultimate source of light, and that light of inspiration flows downward from Him to human to human, and we are all connected to each other through a chain of inspiration that leads all the way back up. It is described in better words in the chapter “Noor”,

    “Allah is the Light of the heavens and the earth. The example of His light is that of a niche, in which there is a lamp; the lamp is in a glass – the glass looks like a brilliant star – it is lit by (the oil of) a blessed tree, the olive, which is neither eastern, nor western. Its oil is about to emit light even though the fire has not touched it – (it is) light upon light. Allah guides to His light whomsoever He wills; Allah describes examples for the people, and Allah knows everything well.”
    (Quran)

    The best expression of this light in written form is the book (the Quran) itself. The best expression in the form of a person is Muhammad (peace be upon him). However, that does not mean that we, as humans, cannot aspire to “touch the face of God”, as you put it. On the contrary, faith is the most superior paint we can paint with; we are all vessels of the inspiration that flows freely down from the One, and through the work of our hands, eyes, ears, and tongue we can climb the rope up all the way to the top. There is no forced grading curve. Unlimited number of A pluses, all hanging there for the taking like ripe fruit from a tree. Now, if we pass it by without trying to get it, it is such a shame. Anyway, I digress.

    The real reason one’s words may appeal to another is because one’s heart is open to the divine. We recognise the language of love, and it is that which makes us love one another, because we are all in love with the Creator to begin with. If you love the One, then loving humans is a free-for-all because each human is a reflection of yet another thought of His. In other words, I love love because of His Love. And I am sure that with your love for others it is the same.

    As for Mr.Alex Johns, I wiki’ed him and found that he is connected with Futurama. I am familiar with Futurama (a bit, not a lot); it is the work of thinkers, though it may be consumed mindlessly by most. As for me, I have many muses. I may blog about them some day, let’s see.

    I am thankful for the chance to discuss the divine. Being lost in the mundane is dangerous for the soul. If it interests you, the little prayer I pray before I blog is as follows:

    “O my Sustainer! Open up my heart [to Your light], and make my task easy for me, and loosen the knot from my tongue so that they might fully understand my speech.”
    Surah Taha, 20:25-28 (The Quran)

    I close this reply with my own little prayer:
    May Allah bless you with the true success of this world and the next life.

    Like

What do you think? Leave a Reply!

